2024 Wine Law Conference & AIDV Canada Annual Meeting

AIDV Canada’s annual conference brings together industry, government and legal advisors across the Canadian wine landscape to share information and discuss legal, policy and business topics of common interest. The agenda and speakers reflect the national coverage of the Canadian Chapter and the broad scope of current legal issues facing the wine industry in Canada.

DATE:

Wednesday, April 24, 2024

LOCATION:

Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP
Suite 3200, Bay Adelaide Centre
North Tower – 40 Temperance Street
Toronto, Ontario

TIME (in person):  12:00 pm – 6:15 pm EDT (includes post-conference reception)

  • Members should arrive at noon for lunch and AGM
  • Non-members should arrive at noon for lunch
  • Conference starts at 12:30 for everyone

TIME: (virtual):  9:00 am – 2:00 pm PDT / 12:00 pm – 5:00 pm EDT

  • Members should sign in at 12:00 pm EDT / 9:00 am PDT for the AGM
  • Non-members should sign in at 12:30 EDT / 9:30 am PDT for the conference start

REGISTRATION: 

  • In-person Member: $175
  • In-person Non-Member: $225
  • In-person Student: $50
  • Online Member: $75
  • Online Non-Member: $125
  • Online Student: $50

In-person registration includes lunch and tasting. Prices exclude tax.

Registration link will be sent to registrants a day or two prior to the conference.

Purchase in-person tickets here

Purchase virtual tickets here

ACCREDITATION: Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Credits vary by province.

British Columbia: “AIDV2024” (3.5 hours)
Ontario and Quebec: Self-reporting (3.5 hours)

AGENDA

11:45 EST / 8:45 PST
Registration


12:00 EST / 9:00 PST
Annual Meeting (Members Only)    |    Catered Lunch (All Welcome)


12:30 EST / 9:30 PST
Welcome

Jennifer McKenzie, Director, AIDV Canada
Partner, Cassels, Brock & Blackwell LLP (Toronto, Ontario)

Chris Wilson, President, AIDV Canada
Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright (Vancouver, BC)


12:45 EST / 9:45 PST
Panel 1: Interprovincial Trade Barriers

This panel will discuss a perennial issue in the Canadian wine and alcohol beverage market(s): interprovincial trade barriers and their implications for the sector.

Arnold Schwisberg, Barrister & Solicitor
Arnold Schwisberg Personal Law Corporation (Toronto, ON)

Shea Coulson, Partner
DLA Piper (Canada) LLP (Vancouver, BC)

Al Hudec, Partner
Farris LLP (Vancouver, BC)


14:00 EST / 11:00 PST
Coffee / Wellness Break


14:15 EST / 11:15 PST
Panel 2: Cross Country Regulatory Review

A comparative look at the state of regulation in the wine industry in British Columbia, Alberta and Ontario

Evie Bouras, Counsel
McCarthy Tétrault LLP (Toronto, ON)

Keith Guinn, Associate
McCarthy Tétrault LLP (Calgary, AB)

Megan O’Neill, Senior Associate
Farris LLP (Vancouver, BC)


15:15 EST / 12:15 PST
Special Issue: Quebec Language Law

Overview of Bill 96 and its impact on product labelling and advertising. What do the changes mean to your business?

Catherine Daigle, Partner
Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP (Montréal, QC)


15:50 EST / 12:50 PST
Wellness Break


16:00 EST / 13:00 PST
Industry Perspectives

Industry perspective on upcoming Ontario regulatory changes and an overview of the VQA regulatory framework in Ontario.

Richard Linley, President
Ontario Craft Wineries (Toronto, ON)

Laurie MacDonald, Executive Director
VQA Ontario Wine Appellation Authority (Toronto, ON)

Rob Taylor, Director of Policy and Government Relations,
Wine Growers Canada (Ottawa, ON)


17:00 EST  (in-person only)
Sparkling Wine Reception


17:30 EST (in-person only)
A Love Letter to Ontario Wines – Guided Tasting

A sommelier-guided tasting, featuring a flight of Ontario wines

Debbie Shing, Founder,
Quvé Group


18:15 EST
Closing